Skip to Content

Executive Committee

Dr. Julia Christensen

Project Director

Julia Christensen is a Canada Research Chair in Northern Governance and Public Policy in the Department of Geography at Memorial University.

Dr. Shelagh McCartney

Dr. Shelagh McCartney is Director of +city lab and Together Design Lab, and an Associate Professor at Ryerson University in the School of Urban and Regional Planning.

Dr. Rebecca Schiff

Dr. Rebecca Schiff is an Associate Professor in the Department of Health Sciences at Lakehead University.

James Caesar

James Caesar is Lead Innovator representing the K’asho Got’ine Housing Society (KGHS) located in Rádeyįlį Kǫ́ (Fort Good Hope), in the Sahtú Region of the Northwest Territories.

Anne Headrick

Anne Headrick is Housing Manager for the Garden River First Nation.

Dr. Mylene Riva

Dr. Mylene Riva is a Tier II Canada Research Chair in Housing, Community and Health, and cross-appointed as an Assistant Professor in the Institute for Health and Social Policy and the Department of Geography at McGill University.

Ouri Scott

Ouri Scott is a Tlicho Dene architect originally from the Northwest Territories.

Arthur Tobac

Arthur Tobac is a Director of the Ka’sho Got’ine Housing Society and is also a member of the Fort Good Hope Council.

Michele Wood

Michele Wood is a Health Researcher / Evaluator for the Nunatsiavut Government, Department of Health and Social Development based in Happy Valley-Goose Bay.


Rebecca Alty

Rebecca was born and raised in Yellowknife – in Chief Drygeese Territory in the Akaitcho Territory.

Dr. Trevor Bell

Trevor Bell is a geographer and University Research Professor (Memorial University of Newfoundland) whose current work focuses on climate change adaptations.

Colin R. Bonnycastle

Colin R. Bonnycastle has played an active role in community-based research in areas of domestic violence, homelessness, Northern economy and water rights in First Nations.

Dr. Marleny M. Bonnycastle

Dr. Marleny M. Bonnycastle is an Associate Professor at the University of Manitoba, Faculty of Social Work in Winnipeg.

Dr. Lori Chambers

Dr. Lori Chambers is a Professor in the Department of Women’s Studies at Lakehead University.

Dr. Kenneth Coates

Dr. Kenneth Coates is Tier I Canada Research Chair in Regional Innovation at the Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy, University of Saskatchewan campus.

Jackie Compton Hobbs

Jackie Compton Hobbs is employed with Government of Newfoundland & Labrador with the Department of Justice, and has been advocating for many years to end homelessness.

Dr. Ashlee Consolo

Ashlee Cunsolo, PhD, is a health geographer and the Director of the Labrador Institute of Memorial University.

Lee Anne Deegan

Lee Anne is currently living in Thompson, Manitoba where she teaches in the Northern Social Work Program with University of Manitoba.

Arlene Hache

Arlene Hache currently sits as a member of the National Poverty Council.

Dr. Greg Halseth

Greg Halseth is a Professor in the Geography Program at UNBC, where he is also the Canada Research Chair in Rural and Small Town Studies.

Dr. Susane Havelka

Dr. Havelka’s research interests lie at the intersection of housing, community engagement and user-generated cold-climate building techniques

Dr. Travis Hay

Travis Hay is a Canadian historian and community organizer from Thunder Bay, Ontario, and teaches as a Postdoctoral Fellow at Lakehead University.

Dr. Carin Holroyd

Dr. Carin Holroyd is an Associate Professor in the Department of Political Studies, University of Saskatchewan and President of the Japan Studies Association of Canada.

Dr. Carol Kauppi

Carol Kauppi, PhD is the Director of the Centre for Research in Social Justice and Policy. She is also a professor in the School of Social Work at Laurentian University and she served as the MSW Program Coordinator for several years.

Anna Kirbyson

For the past fifteen years, Anna has supported government agencies, non-profit organizations and Indigenous communities to design, implement and evaluate projects in community-based program design and evaluation.

Bonnie Krysowaty

Bonnie Krysowaty is a Social Researcher and Planner for the Lakehead Social Planning Council.

Dr. Linda Larcombe

L. Larcombe is an Associate Professor in the Departments of Internal Medicine, Medical Microbiology, Community Health Sciences and Adjunct with the Department of Anthropology at the University of Manitoba.

Dr. Tom Marsik

Cold Climate Housing Research Center, Fairbanks, Alaska.

Dr. Pertice Moffitt

Dr. Pertice Moffitt is Manager/Instructor, Health Research Programs, Aurora Research Institute, Aurora College.

Dr. Pamela Orr

Dr. Pamela Orr is a Professor of Internal Medicine (Infectious Diseases), Medical Microbiology and Community Health at the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg.

Erin Shea

Erin Shea is Manager of Homelessness and Community Planning for the Northwest Territories Housing Corporation.

Dr. Eric Weissman

Eric Weissman is an Associate Professor in the Faculty of Arts, Department of Social Science at the University of New Brunswick.

Graduate Students

Christina Goldhar

Christina Goldhar is a doctoral student in geography at Memorial University and a Project Coordinator with the At Home in the North partnership.