Skip to Content

Yellowknives Dene First Nation Yellowknife, NT

Yellowknives Dene First Nation

The Yellowknives Dene First Nation (YKDFN) is part of the Akaitcho Territory Government. It is one of five main Dene groups that live in the NWT and is governed by a Chief and Council which has offices in Dettah and Ndilo. Overall, the YKDFN Chiefs and Council affirm our sacred obligation to serve our people and our commitment to live balanced contemporary lifestyles with culture and traditions important to our community, to speak our traditional language, and protect our natural resources and treaty rights. For Chiefs and Council to lead the YKDFN to a prosperous future requires the support of our members. We will work cooperatively and in partnership with all members, YKDFN administration and legal entities to achieve our proposed outcomes to improve the well-being of all our members.

Visit Website